Board of Directors

Alberta Cooperative Grocery Board of Directors

2024 Candidate Intent Form

In 2024, ACG members will have the opportunity to elect up to five new Directors. 

The Board of Directors represents the owners of Alberta Cooperative Grocery. Each director fulfills legal responsibilities and is a steward of the Cooperative on behalf of the owners. The Board strives to create and maintain a cooperative vision, to provide strategic leadership for the Cooperative, and to ensure that the organization reflects the mission of the Alberta Cooperative Grocery as stated in our bylaws. 

Basic Responsibilities of Board Directors `

  • Attend the Annual Membership Meeting, usually held in July. 
  • Attend the orientation for new directors (to be scheduled soon after the election).
  • Attend all monthly board meetings. Meetings are held, virtually, over Zoom, on the first Tuesday of every month. 
  • Be familiar with each meeting agenda, read the previous meeting’s minutes, and other written information pertinent to the meeting. 
  • During your first term as director, serve on a committee of your choice. 
  • After your first term, continue to contribute in ways representative of your interests and skills.
  • The average time commitment is around ten hours per month but will vary throughout the year depending on each director’s interests and availability. 
  • The term of office for directors is three years. 

In appreciation of service, directors receive a 15% discount on purchases at the store.

Running for the Co-op board is as easy as 1-2-3! 

  1. Make sure your membership is current and that you’re in good standing. Not current? Make a payment towards your equity share with any cashier! To check on your membership status, you can reach out to Owner Services at:
  2. Make sure that in the past 6 months you have attended at least one board meeting and one committee meeting. Board meetings are held over Zoom on the first Tuesday of every month. You can still be eligible if you attend one of the following upcoming board meetings:
    • May 7, 2024
    • June 4, 2024
    • July 2, 2024

To attend one of these board meetings and/or to find out when the next committee meetings are, please email: 

  1. Submit a declaration of candidacy (200 words max) on your reasons for running along with a filled-out Candidate Intent Form. Your declaration statement will be posted in the store, on the website, and sent out with the election ballots. 

This statement and intent form is due May 31, 2024. You may submit your statement electronically to Owner Services:, or mail it to the Co-op, attention: Owner Services, at 1500 NE Alberta St., Portland OR 97211. Alyssa will confirm your eligibility and contact you with any questions or concerns. 

The statement declaring your candidacy should include: 

    • How long you’ve been an owner of the Alberta Co-op and any experience being involved with this or other cooperatives. 
    • Your vision for the Co-op and its role in our community. 
    • Experience, skills, and interests you will bring to the board. 
    • Anything else you’d like to share about yourself or why you’d like to serve on the Board. 

Candidates are invited to attend the upcoming Annual Meeting (July 21, 2024) and will have the opportunity to make brief remarks to introduce themselves to the members in attendance.

For more information, please feel free to reach out to your currently elected directors or Owner Services with questions.

Board of Directors Email:

Owner Services Coordinator Email:

You can contact the Board of Directors with any questions or concerns at